Most Centuries in Cricket World Cup by Top Batsman

Most Centuries in World Cup

The Cricket World Cup is the international championship of One Day International ODI of 50 overs cricket, which is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) after every four years. When a batsman scores 100 runs it’s called century or tons by a batsman. Total 11 World Cup editions have been held so far. Total 165 centuries have been scored by 103 batsmen from 15 different teams. Australian Cricket Team is leading with most centuries scored with 26 by a team followed by the Indian Cricket Team with 25.

The first century was scored by English batsman Dennis Amiss during the inaugural 1975 World Cup. On the same day, Glenn Turner New Zealand’s batsman scored 171 runs unbeaten, which remained highest individual score till 3rd World Cup edition in 1983, when Kapil Dev (India) scored 175 runs against Zimbabwe and India became first-time Cricket World Cup Champion and 2nd team after West Indies to win World Cup.

Most Centuries

ODI highest individual runs score record broken by Sir Viv Richards (West Indies) when he scored 181 runs during World Cup 1987.  Gary Kirsten (South Africa) scored 188* in World Cup 1996, which was highest World Cup individual runs, later during 2015 World Cup the 11th and recent edition record was broken by Chris Gayle 215 runs, which not remained so long, in the same World Cup, Martin Guptill scored 237* runs unbeaten.

Indian legendary little master Sachin Tendulkar holds the record for most centuries scored by a batsman with 6, followed by Australia’s Ricky Ponting and Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara with five for each.  Mark Waugh, Mahela Jayawardene, AB de Villiers, Tillakaratne Dilshan, and Sourav Ganguly have joined the third position with four centuries.

Adam Gilchrist holds a record of scoring highest individual runs in World Cup final with 149 runs during World Cup 2007 against Sri Lanka. He scored his 100 off 72 balls, making it the fastest century in World Cup. All player from 15 different teams who scored century given below with their highest individual runs.

WC Centuries by Batsman

List of players with “Most Centuries In Cricket” especially during Cricket World Cup.

PlayerTeamHighest in WCNo. of Centuries
Sachin TendulkarIndia1526
Ricky PontingAustralia140*5
Kumar SangakkaraSri Lanka1245
AB de VilliersSouth Africa162*4
Rameez RajaPakistan119*3
Saeed AnwarPakistan113*3
Viv RichardsWest Indies1813
Martin GuptillNew Zealand237*2
Glenn TurnerNew Zealand171*2
Scott StyrisNew Zealand1412
Stephen FlemingNew Zealand134*2
Ryan ten DoeschateNetherlands1192
Mahmudullah RiyadBangladesh128*2
Shaiman AnwarU.A.E1061
John DavisonCanada1111
Kyle CoetzerScotland1561
Craig WishartZimbabwe172*1
Jeremy BrayIreland115*1
Updated: 08/11/2019 — 5:35 pm