Global T20 Canada – GT20 Schedule – GT20 Fixture 2020

GT20 Fixture

Global T20 Canada is a professional T20 league. Canada Cricket organizes this mega tournament ever year in July as summer arrives. GT20 Fixture announced ahead of GT20 3rd edition starting from July 14 to 25 July with the title game of the tournament. Lot’s of national and international stars are going to shine this summer.

The aim of Canada Cricket is to bring the best talent from the country and to experience while accompanying with world-class talent. As cricket stars around the globe have signed GT20 second editions featuring the T20 specialist players. Six Teams are going to take part in this edition replacing last year runner up West Indies B team with the Brampton Wolves

The 2020 Global T20 Canada is often known as Global T20 Canada, GT20, Canada T20 League or GT20 Canada League. This is a limited over or 20-overs cricket tournament in Canada. The GT20 Canada 2020 Fixture has been announced and the tournament will start from July 25th.

GT20 Canada Teams

Six teams will participate for GT20 third edition next summer. Vancouver Knights and Winnipeg Hawks have been successful so far as both have title once. GT20 Canada 2018 first edition successful team were Vancouver Knights, who defeated the opponents from 7 wickets.

The second edition of GT20 has been lucky for Winnipeg Hawks who won the title for the first time. JP Duminy and Lendl Simmons have been player of the series for 2019 and 2018 Global T20 Canada contests. Following teams are going to participate for next edition of GT20 Canada.

  • Vancouver Knights
  • Toronto Nationals
  • Winnipeg Hawks
  • Edmonton Royals
  • Montreal Tigers
  • Brampton Wolves

Squads Selection Rules

  • Every team is subject to finalize it’s 17 men squad which includes 7 full ICC member nation players, 5 players from the associate member.
  • All teams must have 5 Canadian players including 3 players from Canada Team A and 2 from Canada B Team.
  • Playing XI must consist of 5 international, 2 Canadian and 4 associate member players. 

Tournament Format 

Global T20 Canada has Round-robin and playoffs tournament format that is organized by Cricket Canada. The official organizer of the tournament is the cricket board of Canada which is commonly known as Cricket Canada. Six teams will participate and 22 matches are scheduled to be played between contestants.

The second edition of GT20 is going to start on July 25th with its opening match between Toronto Nationals and Vancouver Knights. All matches of the tournament are subject to start at 4 PM with Day and Night playtime. The whole tournament is to be hosted by Brampton, Ontario, however, the tournament has been delayed to avoid clashes with WC 2020 Fixture.

Global T20 Canada 2020 features 22 matches with (18 playoff matches, two qualifiers, one eliminator, and the final). Each side will play five games with the opponent in the first playoff round, followed by a single-match second round in which the teams will play one other opponent.

The top four teams after the league round advance to the playoffs. The top two teams will play in the first qualifier, with the winner going into the tournament final. In Qualifier 2, the loser team gets a second chance by playing the winner of the first elimination game between the third and fourth-placed teams.

GT20 Canada 2018

Six teams took part in the maiden edition of GT20 Canada during 2018 and Vancouver Knights won the first title. Teams included were Edmonton Royals, Montreal Tigers, Toronto Nationals, Vancouver Knights and Winnipeg Hawks and Cricket West Indies B Team.

The last edition of Global T20 Canada was hosted by Maple Leaf Cricket Club, King City, Ontario. The last edition of GT20 features the cricket stars around the globe and big names in limited over cricket format. 

A few of the great names include Shahid Afridi, Lasith Malinga, David Miller, Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Chris Gayle, Steven Smith, Darren Sammy, Dwayne Bravo, and Andre Russell

GT20 Canada Records

  • In the inaugural edition of the Global Canada T20 League, Vancouver Knights won the first title against runner up West Indies Team B. 
  • Lendl Simmons from Winnipeg Hawks became the player of the tournament for his 321 runs however his teams knocked out in the playoffs. 
  • West Indian strike bowler Sheldon Cottrell became the leading wicket-taker with 16 wickets at Global T20 Canada first edition.
  • Cottrell played a vital role throughout the tournament for his most economical bowling spell and averaging 3 wickets. 
  • He represented West Indian B Team which was the 6th franchise at GT20 first edition lost the final to Vancouver Knights. 

GT20 Fixture – Round 1

25 July 2020Toronto Nationals vs Vancouver Knights16:00 (D/N)CAA Centre, Brampton
26 July 2020Montreal Tigers vs Winning Hawks16:00 (D/N)CAA Centre, Brampton
27 July 2020Edmonton Royals vs Toronto Nationals11:00CAA Centre, Brampton
27 July 2020Brampton Wolves vs Montreal Tigers16:00 (D/N)CAA Centre, Brampton
28 July 2020Vancouver Knights vs Winnipeg Hawks11:00CAA Centre, Brampton
28 July 2020Brampton Wolves vs Edmonton Royals16:00 (D/N)CAA Centre, Brampton
29 July 2020Toronto Nationals vs Winnipeg Hawks11:00CAA Centre, Brampton
29 July 2020Montreal Tigers vs Vancouver Knights16:00 (D/N)CAA Centre, Brampton
31 July 2020Edmonton Royals vs Montreal Tigers11:00CAA Centre, Brampton
1 August 2020Brampton Wolves vs Winnipeg Hawks11:00CAA Centre, Brampton
2 August 2020Edmonton Royals vs Vancouver Knights11:00CAA Centre, Brampton
3 August 2020Brampton Wolves vs Toronto Nationals11:00CAA Centre, Brampton
3 August 2020Edmonton Royals vs Winnipeg Hawks16:00 (D/N)CAA Centre, Brampton
4 August 2020Brampton Wolves vs Vancouver Knights11:00CAA Centre, Brampton
4 August 2020Montreal Tigers vs Toronto Nationals16:00 (D/N)CAA Centre, Brampton

GT20 Fixture – Round 2

6 August 20201st placed team vs 6th placed team11:00CAA Centre, Brampton
6 August 20202nd placed team vs 5th placed team16:00 (D/N)CAA Centre, Brampton
7 August 20203rd placed team vs 4th placed team11:00CAA Centre, Brampton

GT20 PlayOffs

8 August 20201st placed team vs 2nd placed team11:00CAA Centre, BramptonPlayoff 1
8 August 20203rd placed team vs 4th placed team16:00 (D/N)CAA Centre, BramptonKnockout
10 August 2020The loser of Playoff 1 vs Winner of Knockout02:00CAA Centre, BramptonPlayoff 3

GT20 Canada Final

11 August 2020Winner of Playoff 1 vs Winner of Playoff 302:00CAA Centre, Brampton

GT20 Team Squads

Click here for GT20 Squads

Updated: 31/10/2019 — 9:22 am