Records in Cricket World Cup since 1975 to 2019

Cricket Records

The Cricket World Cup is contested by men’s national teams of the members of the International Cricket Council. ICC is a globally cricket sports governing body.  The Cricket World Cup takes place every four years, the most recent and 11th World Cup edition 2015 Cricket World Cup, jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand. Australia won the Cricket World Cup for the 5th times and are most WC wins by any country. The very first ICC Cricket World Cup was hosted by England and 1975 WC final won by West Indies against Australia on June 21, 1975.

West Indies won the title for the 2nd time during ICC Cricket World Cup 2nd edition 1979 WC and again Lord’s hosted the final contest between England and West Indies. The list of ICC Cricket World Cup from 1975 to 2015 is given below.

Records List

World Cup RecordsWorld Cup Records Since 1975-2015
Highest Totals417/6- Australia v Afghanistan (2015)

413/5-India v Bermuda (2007)

Lowest Totals36/10-Canada v Sri Lanka (2003)

45/10-Canada v England (1979)

Highest Match aggregates688/18-Australia v Sri Lanka (2015)

676/18-India v England (2011)

Lowest Match aggregates73/11-Canada v Sri Lanka (2003)

91/12-Canada v England (1979)

The highest successful run chase329-7 Ireland v England (2011)

322-4 Bangladesh v Scotland (2015)

Highest Winning margin (runs275-Australia v Afghanistan (2015)

257-India v Bermuda (2007) & South Africa v West Indies (2015)

With the Highest Winning margin1-Australia v India (1987) & (1992)

2-Sri Lanka v England (2007)

Highest WC Winning %75%-Australia, 65%-South Africa
Most Wins by Team62-Australia, 48-New Zealand
Most Losses42-Zimbabwe, 35-Sri Lanka
100% Winning Records11-Australia (2003, 2007), 8-Sri Lanka, 5/4-West Indies (1975, 1979)
Consecutive wins27-Australia (1999-2011), 27-India (2011-2015)
Matches without defeat34-Australia (1999-2011), 11-India (2011, 2015)
Most consecutive defeats18-Zimbabwe (1983-1992), 14-Scotland (1999-2015)
Most runs by a batsman2278-Sachin Tendulkar (India), 1743-Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Highest Batting Averages63.52-AB de Villiers (SA), 63.42-Michael Clarke (Aus)
Highest Strike Rate120.84-Brendon McCullum (NZ), 117.29-AB de Villiers (SA)
Fastest Double Century215 (138) balls-Chris Gayle (WI) v Zimbabwe (2015)

237* (152) balls-Martin Guptill (NZ) v West Indies (2015)

The Fastest 150 runs64 balls-AB de Villiers (SA)
Fastest Century50 balls-Kevin O’Brien (Ireland) v England (2011)

51 balls-Glenn Maxwell (Aus) v Sri Lanka (2015)

Fastest fifty18-Brendon McCullum (NZ) v England (2015)

20-Brendon McCullum (NZ) v Canada (2007)

20-Angelo Mathews (SL) v Scotland (2015

Most Centuries6-Sachin Tendulkar (Ind), 5-Ricky Ponting (Aus) & 5-Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
With the Most 50+ Scores21-Sachin Tendulkar (India), 12-Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Most ducks5 times out of 22 matches-Nathan Astle (Aus)

5 times out of 26 matches-Ijaz Ahmed (Pak)

With Most Sixes37-Chris Gayle (WI), 37-AB de Villiers (SA) and 31-Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Most Sixes in an Innings16-Chris Gayle (WI) v Zimbabwe (2015)

11-Martin Guptill (NZ) v New Zealand (2015)

Highest scores in an Innings237*-Martin Guptill (NZ) v West Indies (2015)

215-Chris Gayle (WI) v Zimbabwe (2015)

Most boundaries run in an Innings162-Martin Guptill (NZ) v West Indies (2015)

136-Chris Gayle (WI) v Zimbabwe (2015)

Highest Partnerships372-Chris Gayle & Marlon Samuels (WI)-2nd Wicket v Zimbabwe 2015

318-Sourav Ganguly & Rahul Dravid (India)-2nd Wicket v Sri Lanka (1999)

The Most runs in Tournament673-Sachin Tendulkar (India) in 11 innings

659-Matthew Hayden (Aus) in 10 innings

Most sixes in Tournament26-Chris Gayle (WI) in 6 innings

21-AB de Villiers (SA) in 7 innings

The Most consecutive centuries4-Kumar Sangakkara (SL)-2015
Most consecutive 50+ scores5-Steve Smith (Aus)-2015
With Most Consecutive ducks3-Nicholas De Groot (Canada)-2003 and 2011
Most Wickets71-Glenn McGrath (Aus), 68-Muttiah Muralitharan (SL)
Lowest Bowling Averages18.19-Glenn McGrath (Aus), 19.26-Imran Khan (Pak)
Lowest Bowling Economy3.24-Andy Roberts (WI), 3.43-Ian Botham (Eng)
Bowling Strike rate23.8-Lasith Malinga (WI), 27.1-Zaheer Khan (Pak)
Best Bowling Figures7/15-Glenn McGrath (Aus) v Namibia (2003)

7/20-Andrew Bichel (Aus) v England (2003)

Record Most Wickets26-Glenn McGrath (Aus) in 11 matches (2011)

23-Chaminda Vaas (Sl) in 10 matches (2003)

23-Muttiah Muralitharan (SL) in 10 matches (2007)

23-Shaun Tait (Aus) in 11 matches (2007)

Most dismissals as wicketkeeper54-Kumar Sangakkara (SL), 52-Adam Gilchrist (Aus)
With the Most catches as a fielder28-Ricky Ponting (Aus), 18-Sanath Jayasuriya (SL)
Most dismissals as wicket-keeper21-Adam Gilchrist-Aus (2003 & 2007), 17-Kumar Sangakkara-SL (2003 & 2007)
Record Most catch in a tournament11-Ricky Ponting (Aus), 9-Rilee Rossouw (SA)
Most dismissals in a match as wicketkeeper6-Adam Gilchrist-Australia (2003)

6-Sarfraz Ahmed-Pak (2015)

With the Most Catches (fielder) in a match4-Mohammad Kaif-India (2003)

4-Soumya Sarkar-Bangladesh (2015)

4-Umar Akmal-Pakistan (2015)

Most extras conceded in one inning59-Scotland v Pakistan (1999)

51-India v Zimbabwe (1999)

WC matches hosted by a ground12-Headingley Leeds,

11-Trent Bridge Nottingham

11-Old Trafford Manchester

11-Edgbaston Birmingham

Most Matches as Umpire46-David Shepherd (Eng)

45-Steve Bucknor (WI)

The Most finals as Umpire in World Cup5-Steve Bucknor (WI)

3-David Shepherd (Eng)

3-Dickie Bird (Eng)

Most Appearance by Batsman46-Ricky Ponting (Aus), 45-Sachin Tendulkar (India)
Players who represented more than one countryEoin Morgan, Ed Joyce, Kepler Wessels, Anderson, Pat Cummins
Most World Cup TitlesRicky Ponting, Glenn McGrath, Adam Gilchrist
Youngest Player appearance16 Years & 283 days-Nitish Kumar-Canada (2011)

17 Years & 70 days-Talha Jubair-Bangladesh (2003)

Oldest Player appearance47 Years & 257 days-Nolan Clarke-Netherlands (1996)

44 Years & 306 days-John Traicos-Zimbabwe (1992)

Most Matches as Captain29-Ricky Ponting (Aus), 27-Stephen Fleming (NZ)
Best Winning % (10 Matches)93%-Ricky Ponting (Aus), 88%-Clive Lloyd (WI)
Youngest Captain to lift WC Trophy24Y, 5M & 19 days-Kapil Dev-India (1983)

28Y, 3M & 4 days-Ricky Ponting-Aus (2003)

29Y, 8M & 26 days-MS Dhoni-India (2011)


Updated: 09/11/2019 — 7:38 am