Categories: Global T20 Canada

Global T20 Canada – GT20 Schedule – GT20 Fixture 2020

Global T20 Canada is a professional T20 league. Canada Cricket organizes this mega tournament ever year in July as summer arrives. GT20 Fixture announced ahead of GT20 3rd edition starting from July 14 to 25 July with the title game of the tournament. Lots of national and international stars are going to shine this summer.

The aim of Canada Cricket is to bring the best talent from the country and to experience while accompanying with world-class talent. As cricket stars around the globe have signed GT20 second editions featuring the T20 specialist players. Six Teams are going to take part in this edition replacing last year runner up West Indies B team with the Brampton Wolves.

The 2020 Global T20 Canada often known as Global T20 Canada, GT20, Canada T20 League or GT20 Canada League. This is a limited over or 20-overs cricket tournament in Canada. The GT20 Canada 2020 Fixture has been announced and the tournament will start from July 25th.

GT20 Canada Teams

Six teams will participate for GT20 third edition next summer. Vancouver Knights and Winnipeg Hawks have been successful so far as both have title once. GT20 Canada 2018 first edition successful team were Vancouver Knights, who defeated the opponents from 7 wickets.

The second edition of GT20 has been lucky for Winnipeg Hawks who won the title for the first time. JP Duminy and Lendl Simmons have been player of the series for 2019 and 2018 Global T20 Canada contests. The following teams are going to participate in the next edition of GT20 Canada.

  • Vancouver Knights
  • Toronto Nationals
  • Winnipeg Hawks
  • Edmonton Royals
  • Montreal Tigers
  • Brampton Wolves

Squads Selection Rules

  • Every team subject to finalize it’s 17 men squad which includes 7 full ICC member nation players, 5 players from the associate member.
  • All teams must have 5 Canadian players including 3 players from Canada Team A and 2 from Canada B Team.
  • Playing XI must consist of 5 international, 2 Canadian and 4 associate member players.

Tournament Format

Global T20 Canada: Round-robin and playoffs tournament format organized by Cricket Canada. The official organizer of the tournament – the cricket board of Canada commonly known as Cricket Canada. Six teams will participate and 22 matches are scheduled to be played between contestants.

The second edition of GT20 is going to start on July 25th with its opening match between Toronto Nationals and Vancouver Knights. All matches of the tournament are subject to start at 4 PM with Day and Night playtime. The whole tournament –  hosted by Brampton, Ontario, however, the tournament delayed avoiding clashes with WC 2020 Fixture.

Global T20 Canada 2020 features 22 matches with (18 playoff matches, two qualifiers, one eliminator, and the final). Each side will play five games with the opponent in the first playoff round, followed by a single-match second round in which the teams will play one other opponent.

The top four teams after the league round advance to the playoffs. The top two teams will play in the first qualifier, with the winner going into the tournament final. In Qualifier 2, the loser team gets a second chance by playing the winner of the first elimination game between the third and fourth-placed teams.

GT20 Canada 2018

Six teams took part in the maiden edition of GT20 Canada during 2018 and Vancouver Knights won the first title. Teams included were Edmonton Royals, Montreal Tigers, Toronto Nationals, Vancouver Knights and Winnipeg Hawks and Cricket West Indies B Team.

The last edition of Global T20 Canada was hosted by Maple Leaf Cricket Club, King City, Ontario. The last edition of GT20 features the cricket stars around the globe and big names in limited over cricket format.

A few of the great names include Shahid Afridi, Lasith Malinga, David Miller, Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Chris Gayle, Steven Smith, Darren Sammy, Dwayne Bravo, and Andre Russell.

GT20 Canada Records

  • In the inaugural edition of the Global Canada T20 League, Vancouver Knights won the first title against runner up West Indies Team B.
  • Lendl Simmons from Winnipeg Hawks became the player of the tournament for his 321 runs however his teams knocked out in the playoffs.
  • West Indian strike bowler Sheldon Cottrell became the leading wicket-taker with 16 wickets at Global T20 Canada first edition.
  • Cottrell played a vital role throughout the tournament for his most economical bowling spell and averaging 3 wickets.
  • He represented West Indian B Team which was the 6th franchise at GT20 first edition lost the final to Vancouver Knights.

GT20 Fixture 2020

The tournament scheduled at CAA Centre, Brampton.

Round 1
25-Jul-20Toronto Nationals vs Vancouver Knights16:00 (D/N)Brampton
26-Jul-20Montreal Tigers vs Winning Hawks16:00 (D/N)Brampton
27-Jul-20Edmonton Royals vs Toronto Nationals11:00Brampton
27-Jul-20Brampton Wolves vs Montreal Tigers16:00 (D/N)Brampton
28-Jul-20Vancouver Knights vs Winnipeg Hawks11:00Brampton
28-Jul-20Brampton Wolves vs Edmonton Royals16:00 (D/N)Brampton
29-Jul-20Toronto Nationals vs Winnipeg Hawks11:00Brampton
29-Jul-20Montreal Tigers vs Vancouver Knights16:00 (D/N)Brampton
31-Jul-20Edmonton Royals vs Montreal Tigers11:00Brampton
1-Aug-20Brampton Wolves vs Winnipeg Hawks11:00Brampton
2-Aug-20Edmonton Royals vs Vancouver Knights11:00Brampton
3-Aug-20Brampton Wolves vs Toronto Nationals11:00Brampton
3-Aug-20Edmonton Royals vs Winnipeg Hawks16:00 (D/N)Brampton
4-Aug-20Brampton Wolves vs Vancouver Knights11:00Brampton
4-Aug-20Montreal Tigers vs Toronto Nationals16:00 (D/N)Brampton
Round 2
6-Aug-201st placed team vs 6th placed team11:00Brampton
6-Aug-202nd placed team vs 5th placed team16:00 (D/N)Brampton
7-Aug-203rd placed team vs 4th placed team11:00Brampton
8-Aug-201st placed team vs 2nd placed team11:00Brampton
8-Aug-203rd placed team vs 4th placed team16:00 (D/N)Brampton
10-Aug-20Loser of Playoff 1 vs Winner of Knockout2:00Brampton
11-Aug-20Winner of Playoff 1 vs Winner of Playoff 32:00Brampton
Article Name
Global T20 Canada - GT20 Schedule - GT20 Fixture 2020
GT20 Fixture, Round-1, Round-2, PlayOffs and Final of GT20 - Global T20 Canada 2020 Key Players - Match Summary - Player to Watch
Publisher Name
Cricket Dugout
Publisher Logo

Recent Posts

Glamorgan T20 Blast Fixtures, Schedule, Time Table and Venues

Glamorgan County Cricket Club is one of the eighteen first-class counties that competes in Specsavers… Read More

Essex T20 Blast Fixtures, Schedule, Time Table and Venues

Essex County Cricket Club is one of the eighteen first-class county clubs that compete in… Read More

Surrey T20 Blast Fixtures, Schedule, Time Table and Venues

Surrey County Cricket Club is one of the eighteen counties that competes in Specsavers County… Read More

Natwest T20 Blast Teams Captain and Players List

Vitality Blast is the professional Twenty20 Cricket League established by England and Wales Cricket Board.… Read More

T20 Blast Fixtures, Schedule, Time Table and Venues

The 2020 Vitality Blast or T20 Blast- the professional Twenty20 Cricket League. The limited-overs competition… Read More

Mumbai Indians Schedule 2021 Match Time Table and Venue

Mumbai Indians are the most successful team of the Indian Premier League. They have been… Read More

Kolkata Knight Riders Schedule 2021 Match Time Table and Venue

Kolkata Knight Riders based in West Bengal and the franchise have one-two titles of the… Read More

Chennai Super Kings Schedule 2021 Match Time Table and Venue

According to the Indian Premier League 2021, Chennai Super Kings to play the opening game… Read More

Royal Challengers Bangalore Schedule 2021 Match Time Table and Venue

Royal Challengers Bangalore to play the 13th season of the Indian Premier League as the… Read More